## Coventry City Council Minutes of the Extraordinary Meeting of Council held at 2.00 pm on Tuesday, 16 May 2017

Members Present: Councillor L Harvard (Chair)

Councillor F Abbott Councillor R Lancaster Councillor N Akhtar Councillor M Lapsa Councillor P Akhtar Councillor A Lucas Councillor P Male Councillor R Ali Councillor A Andrews Councillor K Maton Councillor R Auluck Councillor T Mayer Councillor S Bains Councillor J McNicholas Councillor L Bigham Councillor C Miks Councillor J Blundell Councillor K Mulhall Councillor J Mutton Councillor R Brown Councillor K Caan Councillor M Mutton Councillor J Clifford Councillor J O'Boyle Councillor T Sawdon Councillor G Crookes Councillor P Seaman Councillor G Duggins Councillor D Gannon Councillor R Singh Councillor M Hammon Councillor D Skinner Councillor H Sweet Councillor J Innes Councillor B Kaur Councillor R Thav Councillor L Kelly Councillor C Thomas Councillor S Walsh Councillor D Kershaw Councillor A Khan Councillor D Welsh Councillor G Williams Councillor R Lakha

Honorary Alderman J. Gazey

Apologies: Councillor R Bailey, J Birdi, J Lepoidevin, G Ridley, E Ruane,

B Singh, T Skipper and K Taylor

## **Public Business**

## 142. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest.

## 143. Recommendations of Ethics Committee following Code of Conduct Hearing - Councillor Jaswant Singh Birdi

The following motion as set out in the requisition for an Extraordinary Meeting of the City Council signed by Councillors Duggins, A. Khan, J Mutton, Seaman and O'Boyle had been received:

"We the undersigned call for an Extraordinary Meeting of the City Council to be held following the decision of the Ethics Committee held on 17 March 2017 that

the Committee should report its findings to full Council with a recommendation that it censures Councillor J S Birdi."

The Council considered a report of the Chair of the Ethics Committee which set out the findings of the Ethics Committee held on 17 March 2017 in respect of the hearing into a complaint that Councillor Jaswant Singh Birdi had breached the Code of Conduct for Elected and Co-opted Members in respect of an incident which took place on 4 January 2016. The report requested the Council to consider censuring Councillor Birdi in respect of those breaches of the Code of Conduct.

In accordance with the Constitution, in moving the Recommendation to censure Councillor Birdi, Councillor Walsh, Chair of the Ethics Committee, clarified that the Recommendation, if accepted, should be formally minuted by the Council and that a formal letter of censure be sent from the Leader of the Council to Councillor Birdi to include the expectation of the Council that all Councillors must uphold the principles of public life including demonstrating leadership by treating others with respect; that Councillor Birdi had failed to do this and his comments were unacceptable.

Councillor Walsh also indicated that the Leader also considered it appropriate that the Leader, on behalf of the Council, should write to the Complainant to assure him that such behaviour by Councillors is not tolerated.

RESOLVED that the City Council note the findings of the Ethics Committee and agree that Councillor Birdi be censured by the City Council in the terms outlined above.

Note: In accordance with the Constitution, a recorded vote was taken.

The Councillors voting for and against the Recommendations were as follows:

<u>For</u>	<u>Against</u>	<u>Abstain</u>
Councillor Abbott	Councillor Williams	Councillor Blundell
Councillor N Akhtar		Councillor Crookes
Councillor P Akhtar		Councillor Hammon
Councillor Ali		Councillor Lapsa
Councillor Andrews		Councillor Male
Councillor Auluck		Councillor Mayer
Councillor Bains		Councillor Sawdon
Councillor Bigham		Councillor Skinner
Councillor Brown		
Councillor K Caan		
Councillor Clifford		
Councillor Duggins		
Councillor Gannon		
Councillor Innes		
Councillor Kaur		
Councillor Kelly		
Councillor Kershaw		
Councillor A Khan		
Councillor Lakha		

Councillor Lancaster	
Councillor Lucas	
Councillor McNicholas	
Councillor Maton	
Councillor Miks	
Councillor Mulhall	
Councillor J Mutton	
Councillor M Mutton	
Councillor O'Boyle	
Councillor Seaman	
Councillor R Singh	
Councillor Sweet	
Councillor Thay	
Councillor Thomas	
Councillor Walsh	
Councillor Welsh	
Lord Mayor	 

Result: Carried

For: 36 Against: 1 Abstentions: 8

(Meeting closed at 2.20 pm)